top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

I find the courage to be....?

Welcome back, Champions!

HAPPY NATIONAL DIABETES DAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!

I'm so excited that I have a blog post today! I wanted to post this last week, but I thought what's better than posting this on #NationalDiabetesDay, especially with how fitting the topic is! I will admit, it might be a little more sensitive than most things I've talked about on here, but I really just wanted to get this message across to everyone who reads my blog (I APPRECIATE YOU!) and follows me ( seamless plug... instagram @bastheboss twitter: @bastheboss_). It's so important to continually stay optimistic and full of hope, and I know how hard that can be after years of battling diabetes and all of its ups and downs it brings with it.

Think of this post as a breather... a chance to regain hope, to remind yourself that you are a DIA-BADASS, and that you've got this!!! There is nothing that will get you down; not a high blood sugar number, a not-so-great A1C reading, a couple of days of not eating great... because at the end of the day, you are doing your best every single moment, thinking of how you can be the healthiest and happiest version of yourself possible. Go ahead and pause right now, and give yourself a high five, round of applause, or a self hug... you deserve it!

Whenever my diaversary roles around, or #NationalDiabetesDay, I like to reflect on the past until now. What I've accomplished, been through, the good, the bad, and what I'm looking forward to and what I am going to strive MY HARDEST to get to. It keeps you from the same old, same old, and gives you so time to reflect on the good parts of your diagnosis as well, which is very important for our sanity, to be completly honest!

This year, I will have had diabetes for 18 years. I've had it for more than half my life! It wasn't easy at first, and heck sometimes it still isn't! But to be honest, it never GETS easy, it just becomes normal. You can manage it better. You can live with it better. You know what to do, when, and how, and the things that used to scare you don't anymore! We're basically superheroes that just have to learn how to use their powers! Yes it will take lots of time and patience, but I promise you can do it!

Here are some of my favorite past memories thanks to diabetes in my life (NOT ALL OF THEM... that would take us years to get through LOL!)

So take this time to reflect and be thankful for the good things that diabetes has brought into your life, because I'm sure there's more than one you can count for! I will forever be thankful for my parents support in everything and anything I do, and the beautiful friends who have become family throughout this journey I have been able to meet. The people, volunteers, kids, parents, and events that I have been able to meet and attend are memories I cherish and hold close to me, and I'm thankful to have something that although might be a pain in the butt sometimes, brings me so much happiness through other means. Once an advocate, always an advocate!

This brings me to my last little part here... I left the blank in the posts' title because that's up to you to decide what you want to be! Personally, I find the courage to be optimistic everyday, and remember to be thankful for what I have. Every morning is a new start, a chance to fix your mistakes and make your day better than the last. Don't let that opportunity go. What do you find the courage to be? Strong? Happy? Excited? Thankful? Whatever it is that you find the courage to be everyday of your life, put in the blank and chant it to yourself today and everyday! You are a fighter, and most importantly, a CHAMPION!

Thank you guys for coming on this journey with me, and I can't wait to see where it takes everyone!

Have a great #NationalDiabetesDay, and don't forget to treat yourself! For those of you who don't have diabetes, let your friends and loved ones know what a great job they're doing, sometimes that's all they need to hear!

All my love,

B :)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Because together, we'll go from type one to TYPE NONE!"


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page