top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Snacks, treats, and galore!


Welcome back Champions!

With summer practically standing on our front door, we enter the season filled with summer parties and get togethers, picnics on the beach, fair days, and SNACKS! Who doesn't love snacking on something sweet when it's hot and sticky outside (even though our current weather is a little questionable tbh...)? I know I do!

Today's post is all about yummy snacks that won't kill your calorie intake or spike your perfectly set blood sugars out of range! These are my all time favorite snacks and treats that are low-carb and taste amazing, so keep reading to see what you should be snacking on this summer!

I will be linking the website to each brand in the colored title, so be sure to check them out and learn more about these great brands, as well as their social media handles which I will also put below!

Do you know any other yummy treats you adore and would like to share with me? Tweet me or comment down below! Also, all pictures are thanks to Google Images! Thanks friends!

I SCREAM FOR ICE CREAM, YOU SCREAM FOR ICE CREAM, WE ALL SCREAM FOR ICE CREAM

Honestly, do I have say much for this one? Halo Top ice cream is the best ice cream I've had in a long, long time hands down!!! It tastes just like regular ice cream, without all those ugly carbohydrates that you can never get right because honestly, there's anywhere from 20g to 40g of carbs and it can be hard to pin-point exactly how much insulin to give!

Halo Top is low-calorie, low-calorie, high-protein, AND low-sugar! They use we the best all-natural ingredients to make their ice cream and the most calories in one WHOLE pint of ice cream is only 280 calories! So yes, you CAN eat the whole pint if you'd like, no one will judge you!

I also want to thank the Halo Top team for being so sweet and reaching out to me, their customer service is AMAZING and they are up to amazing things! Super proud to be eating Halo Top and I know I will be for a longggggggg time! Make sure to check them out and their current Golden Seal Sweepstakes - you could win 5K for groceries, a trip to Hawaii, and help a child's dream come true for the Make-a-Wish Foundation! Make sure to check it out here!

Health Facts:

Calories: 240-360 per pint, depending on which flavor you choose

Protein: 20g per pint

Carbohydrates: 12g-16g per 1/2 cup

Gluten free: YES!

Low fat: YES!

Low sugar and Low carb: YES!

No synthetic growth hormones used!

Available flavors:

- Vanilla Bean

- Pistachio

- Birthday Cake

- Lemon Cake

- Mint Chip

- Chocolate

- Strawberry

- Chocolate mocha chip

- Chocolate chip cookie dough

- S'mores

- Oatmeal Cookie

- Cookies and Cream

- Black Cherry

- Peanut Butter Cup

- Sea Salt Carmel

- Chocolate Almond Crunch

- Red Velvet I SAVED THE BEST FOR LAST, IT'S MY ULTIMATE, NUMBER ONE FAVORITE.... It's honestly heaven in a pint of ice cream, I promise you!

I'm secretly hoping I can start a wave so that Halo Top can PLEASE come out with a Matcha Green Tea flavor... so you know, hint hint, wink wink Halo Top!!!

Advantages to Halo Top:

1. First, I love that Halo Top's their first ingredients in their ice cream are MILK and CREAM, words you can actually pronounce, that are natural and healthy ingredients and not synthetic, dangerous preservatives or disgusting hormones.

2. I can eat this ice cream without feeling guilty. It feels so nice to be able to eat a really yummy tasting treat that is actually desert with only no more than 16g of carbs! I can definitely get a sweet treat at times, and it's really nice knowing I can reach for something, still get my crave, but know that I didn't just spike my BG levels or have to give myself an insane amount of insulin to do so.

3. I no longer care if anyone by me is eating regular ice cream! Like ya, sure you go ahead and dig into that huge bowl of vanilla ice cream with about 32g of carbs while I sit here with my lemon cake pint and all 13g of carbs :)

4. RECIPES! There are so many cool treats you can make with Halo Top ice cream, like ice cream cake, popsicles, little tarts, ice cream floats, ice cream 'tacos' and more! It's amazing served with brownies, a slice of cake, or my favorite - served with some fruit and whipped cream, yum! Check out the ones they have featured on their site here!

So, obviously you're going to have ice cream this summer (heck, I like ice cream even when it's cold), so you might as well try Halo Top Creamery! Even if you don't have diabetes, try something new with less calories, carbs, and sugar and treat yourself without harming your health! I love Halo Top and I praise them for stepping outside of the box and doing what other companies have yet to do, which is create ice cream for people to feel confident about eating that's healthy and leaves us happy! Thank you Halo Top!

Instagram and Twitter: @stabylizebars

Everyone has eaten a granola bar, they come in handy when you're rushing out the door and need something to take on the go, or if you're hungry and in a pinch for something to quench you! Syabylize bars are not just candy bars loaded with sugar, they make their bars with ingredients that help your body maintain balance, stabilize your blood sugar levels, providing the nutrients you need.

Personally, I love how good they taste without being overly sweet. Their bars are nice and chewy, with lots of flavor, and can act as a meal replacement if needed. They're a snack, a health bar, and an energy bar all rolled into one!

Health Facts:

Low-gylcemeic: YES!

High protein: YES!

Low sodium: YES!

8g of dietary fiber!

7g of net carbs!

21 vitamins and minerals!

Supports balanced blood sugar levels

Available flavors:

- Dark Chocolate Coconut Cashew

- Chocolate Thin Mint

- Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup

Advantages to Stabylize Bars:

1. My favorite bar from their line is the chocolate thin mint - it tastes like a healthier version of girl scout cookies! I like how they're the perfect amount so they keep me really full when I have one. The 8g of fiber keeps your powered through whatever you're doing and holds you over for a good couple hours, which is why I always have one in my backpack for my long days of classes and studying at the library.

2. They really do stabilize my blood sugars. I don't get any crazy sugar spikes after I have one, and so I don't have to deal with the crazy ups and downs and the sugar rush that normal granola bars leave me feeling afterwards. I barely give any insulin to cover a bar when I eat one, since it only has 7g of net carbs, and thanks to it's low glycemic index, it really helps me control my levels.

3. They're so easy to carry with you, I take them everywhere, especially when I'm traveling or if I have a speech or event to go to. For those of you who like me, have diabetes, we have to make sure we eat so we avoid feeling light-headed and experiencing hypoglycemia (low blood sugar). Bars are a convent way of solving that problem, so stash these in your car, your purse/briefcase, your gym bag... anywhere you have space!

All in all, Stabylize Bars are a great snack and treat to enjoy! I love all the flavors they carry and personally I rely on these bars a lot in my house, so I can personally attest to how much I love and use these bars. You can probably buy them wherever you get granola bars but I personally get mine from Costco, where they come in a 12 pack box. Make sure to check out their website and you can order them directly from the site as well!

Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and Pinterest: @boomchickapop

I am a huge fan of popcorn, like really a big fan. Ever since I was a little girl (my family still teases me about how I used to say the word popcorn when I was little!) popcorn has been one of my favorite snacks to go to. At the movies? Check. At home? Check. Basically anywhere. But bought popcorn comes with a lot of carbs, calories, and FAT! Don't even get me started on the amount of sodium that is packed in there as well. I mean I get it, buttery salty popcorn is yummy, but not when it's doused in it and you can't even TASTE your popcorn anymore *eye roll*

That's why I love BCP! They're low calorie, gluten free, low carb goodness in your mouth! They come in so many flavors, so you can get your sweet, salty, and chocolaty cravings fixed if that's what you please! I also found them in individual mini bags which are even better for those on the go moments you'd rather take a smaller portion with you!

Health Facts:

Gluten-Free

Whole Grain

Non-GMO

No high fructose corn syrup

Always REAL ingredients (found in your kitchen!)

Cholesterol-free

Og Trans Fat

Made with REAL cheese!

Kosher and Kosher Dairy

35 calories per cup

Lactose-Intolerant? Just stay away from the Holidrizzle flavors!

Available Flavors:

- Sea Salt Popcorn

- Sweet and Salty Kettle Corn Popcorn

- White Cheddar Popcorn

- Real Butter Popcorn

- Light Kettle Corn Popcorn

- Cheddar Cheese Popcorn

- Sea Salt and Vinegar Popcorn

- Dill Pickle Popcorn

- Sweet and Spicy Popcorn

- Carmel and Cheddar Popcorn

- Salted Carmel Popcorn

- Sweet Barbecue Popcorn

- Buttery Carmel Popcorn

- Dark Chocolaty Drizzled Sea Salt Kettle Corn

- Milk Chocolaty Peanut Butter Kettle Corn

Advantages to Boom Chicka Pop

1. Other than the million amazing health facts that BCP offers, it tastes really, really good! I love the range of flavors you can choose from defending on what you're feeling, and how no matter what bag you choose, you still get that low-carb, gluten-free, low-calorie goodness!

2. Their ingredients! Whole gain popcorn is the first thing you'll see, and none of the GMO, artificial flavors and coloring that is in so much of packaged snacks and foods nowadays. You know you're getting the real deal, goodness that's actually GOOD for you (go figure!).

3. Their mix of popcorn flavors and kettle corn options give you a wide range no matter what you might be craving - whether you want something salty, buttery, or something sweet, BCP has got it all. Honestly, they double as a healthy alternative to desert!

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest: @Piratesbooty

Since we're on the topic of popcorn-like snacks, I had to include Pirate's Booty Snacks! Also one of my original favorites, I really love their Aged White Cheddar flavor - ugh so so good! What I love about Pirate's Booty is the combination of puffed rice and corn - something that's different but are perfect when combined together! Their snacks are baked, so you already have that healthy alternative to being fried in unhealthy fats.

They have three different products of lines of snacks which include:

- Pirates Booty

- Smart Puffs

- Original Tings

Each line is extremely delicious, and although it's a bit higher on the carb side of the spectrum, it is 18g of carbs per 1 whole ounce, which is a lot more than most serving sizes on post products, which I like. Make sure to check them out on the web and their social media accounts,, and you can also order straight from their website! Yay for online shopping LOL! They also have CUPONS online so you can even save on your favorite snacks!

Health Facts:

Baked

Certified Gluten Free

Kosher

No artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives

About 18g of carbs per 1oz for most of their snacks

Available Flavors:

1. Pirates Booty

- Aged White Cheddar

- Veggie

- Carrot Snacks

- Crunchy Treasures

2. Smart Puffs

- Real Cheddar

3. Original Tings

- Crunchy Corn Tings

Advantages of Pirate's Booty Snacks:

1. INGREDIENTS, INGREDIENTS, INGREDIENTS! Real cheddar, carrots, and veggies, and honestly I don't know what else you could possibly ask for in a yummy snack.

2. BAKED! Pirate's Booty snacks are deliciously baked, which is a great alternative to fried snacks or those dipped in fat and packaged to sell. Baked snacks cut down on fat and calories, keeping you snacking happily and healthily!

3. Corn and Rice!!! You wouldn't think twice when you eat a Pirate's Booty snack about what it's made of, but this yummy combo of puffed rice and corn is not only nutritious, but is also supper yummy tasting and unique from other snacks of its kind!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SOOOO overall, all these snack options are must haves in my book, especially for the summer time. They're great tasting, and much healthier than so many options you'll find in your grocery store nowadays! Why reach for something that's not so great for you when you can snack on these options and be happy knowing you're nourishing your body while doing so! Be sure to check them out on their websites and social medias, and make sure to stop by your local grocery store to pick some up to try - I promise you won't regret it!!

Are there any other snacks that are low-carb that you're obsessed with? Let me know below so I can try them out, and maybe I'll include them in my next update of "Snacks, treats, and galore!" Hope you liked this post and I'll see you all next week!

All my love,

B :)

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page