top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Welcome to Voice For Champions!


Hi guys! Welcome to my blog, Voice For Champions 😃 My name is Basma, and I am so glad to have you here!

A little background about me to start us off - I am currently a sophomore in college, I live in sunny California, I love long walks on the beach, spending time with my family and friends, reading a good book and writing whatever comes to my mind… OH… and ya, I have type 1 diabetes! I’m guessing that’s why most of you are here! I have been living with type 1 diabetes for 17 years now - I was diagnosed when I wa1s a little kid so it’s something that I have become quite adjusted to.

Like I said above, I love writing - I started when I was a little kid. I was always writing stories, poems, and diary entries. My love of writing continued as I got older, and I knew I wanted to continue to incorporate it and advocate for type 1 diabetes. As someone who understand type 1 on a personal level, I want to be a voice for others living with diabetes in an influential way. When I was in middle school, I started volunteering at my local American Diabetes Association’s (ADA) home office, where I met such amazing people and grew into the advocate I am today. That was when I started my public speaking journey and took off. Now, I speak all over the US - local ADA meetings in California, nationally recognized diabetes conventions, galas, fundraisers, events, and in Washington D.C. on Capitol Hill (blog post on that coming soon!). Safe to say, I really love speaking about diabetes advocacy and support, it’s a passion of mine that I want to continue to share with people all over the world.

That’s where my blog,Voice For Champions, comes in! While I share my voice on a national platform with organizations and associations of all sorts - I want to be able to share it with people all over the world no matter where you all may be. Here, I want to spread hope and a positive message about living with type 1, to dispel stereotypes, to provide encouragement and support for people who need it, and to get you to laugh and smile! At the end of the day, my goal is to educate the population about diabetes whether you have it personally, know someone who does, or if you’re just curious! It is never too late to educate yourself about anything, and I hope I can be a role model to people everywhere, of all ages, living healthy, happy, and beautiful lives life with diabetes.

I cannot wait to get to know every single one of you over time, and for you guys to learn more about me! Thank you for joining me on this amazing journey!

I always say, together we will go from type 1 to type NONE! 😃 I hope you all have a wonderful day or night wherever you are!

All my love,

Basma

Follow me on social media (I know you want to!):

Instagram: @bastheboss

Twitter: @bastheboss_

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page